Ill With Want

I could travel across the land
Searching far and wide,
But the grass will still seem greener
On the other side.

I could be surrounded by people who love me
Yet still feel I don’t belong.
I could think I’m a terrible person
Despite how often told I’m wrong.

I could accomplish several amazing feats
Yet still believe I’m inadequate.
I could try my best to be nice
Yet still remain the Devil’s Advocate.

I could conquer all of Earth
Yet still wish for Jupiter and Mars.
I could conquer the Milky Way
Yet still wish upon other stars.

Cause there’s an endless wave of want in the air,
So what I want I can never obtain.
Every attempt leaves a feeling of despair
As I’m reminded of my ball and chain.

They say that Jesus is the answer
And I know that I am God’s child.
Why, then, during my best days
Can I sometimes find no reason to smile?

This is the impossible riddle of Life
That happens to plague all of our minds.
There is no answer that will suffice
Until we’re in heaven, body and mind refined.

One thought on “Ill With Want

Leave a Reply

