Breakfast Blues

Lost my reason to wake in the morning
Ever since you left me without warning.
We’ve always seemed to have gotten along;
Now I’m wondering if I did you wrong.

Lost my reason to give you thanks and praise.
Each day that passes passes in a daze.
The life I live is a life of decay.
My happiness happens to never stay.

I would have treated you so much better,
Or perhaps branded a scarlet letter
Across my chest and openly confess
That I’m impressed by a snack I love best.

Oh chocolate muffin, why’d you have to leave?
I’ve learned not to wear my heart on my sleeve.
Instead my love will always be suppressed
As I keep it locked in a chocolate chest.

Leave a Reply

